Skip to main content

Need assistance? Email Travel Support on:

Kenya Lake System

KenyaNairobi & Great Rift ValleyEldoret


Kenya Lake System 

The Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley is a natural wonder that consists of three interconnected small lakes (Lake Bogoria, Lake Nakuru, and Lake Elementaita) in Kenya's Rift Valley Province, with a total area of 32,034 hectares.

The site is home to 13 globally endangered bird species and has some of the world's highest bird diversity. It is a major nesting and breeding place for great white pelicans, as well as the single most important foraging site for lesser flamingos globally.

The land is rich in mammal populations, including black rhinos, Rothschild's giraffes, greater kudu, lions, cheetahs, and wild dogs, and is useful for studying important ecological processes.

The Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2011.

(Source UNESCO)


  • KenyaNairobi & Great Rift ValleyEldoret

Additional Details