Skip to main content

Need assistance? Email Travel Support on:

Western Highlands & Great Rift Valley

EthiopiaWestern Highlands & Great Rift Valley


Western Highlands & Great Rift Valley 

Ethiopia's wide range of altitude offers a variety of ecologically distinct areas, ranging from deserts along its eastern borders to tropical forests in the south to afromontane forests at the dominant highlands with its highest peak Mount Rash Dashen at an elevation of 4620 metres.

The Great Rift Valley divides the Ethiopian highlands from southwest to northeast. The modern capital, Addis Ababa, is situated on the foothills of Mount Entoto at an elevation of around 2,400 metres.

A number of UNESCO World Heritage Sites include the Ruins of Aksum, the rock-hewn Churches of Lalibela, Fasil Ghebbi at Gonar as well as Simien Mountains National Park. Lake Tana in the north is the source of the Blue Nile which meanders its way down into the low lying areas in the west and on into Sudan to join the White Nile at Khartoum.


  • EthiopiaWestern Highlands & Great Rift Valley

Additional Details